Skip to content
Renfrewshire Counts — Renfrewshire, in numbers.Local help →

Renfrewshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Renfrewshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Renfrewshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 175,690 in 1991 to 189,270 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Renfrewshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 176,390 people in 1996; 189,270 people in 2025. 7.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Renfrewshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991175,690
1992175,280
1993175,320
1994175,460
1995176,430
1996176,390
1997175,800
1998175,320
1999174,390
2000173,680
2001172,850
2002172,300
2003171,560
2004171,470
2005171,430
2006171,270
2007171,870
2008172,640
2009173,020
2010173,700
2011174,700
2012174,660
2013174,600
2014175,280
2015175,900
2016177,400
2017178,530
2018179,510
2019181,040
2020181,610
2021182,330
2022184,370
2023187,150
2024188,610
2025189,270
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Renfrewshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 35,575 people in 1996; 30,418 people in 2025. 14.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Renfrewshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199135,310
199235,377
199335,696
199435,734
199535,881
199635,575
199735,167
199835,001
199934,611
200034,252
200133,517
200232,989
200332,202
200431,866
200531,848
200631,528
200731,341
200831,205
200930,809
201030,641
201130,595
201230,347
201330,033
201429,926
201529,792
201629,853
201729,923
201829,983
201929,943
202029,839
202129,424
202229,728
202330,263
202430,472
202530,418
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Renfrewshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 115,141 people in 1996; 120,230 people in 2025. 4.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Renfrewshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991115,633
1992114,991
1993114,579
1994114,548
1995115,188
1996115,141
1997114,788
1998114,324
1999113,669
2000113,153
2001112,723
2002112,463
2003112,375
2004112,393
2005112,225
2006112,176
2007112,640
2008113,142
2009113,416
2010113,959
2011114,467
2012113,718
2013113,432
2014113,479
2015113,772
2016114,567
2017115,255
2018115,724
2019116,572
2020116,784
2021117,411
2022118,482
2023119,887
2024120,314
2025120,230
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Renfrewshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 25,674 people in 1996; 38,622 people in 2025. 50.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Renfrewshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199124,747
199224,912
199325,045
199425,178
199525,361
199625,674
199725,845
199825,995
199926,110
200026,275
200126,610
200226,848
200326,983
200427,211
200527,357
200627,566
200727,889
200828,293
200928,795
201029,100
201129,638
201230,595
201331,135
201431,875
201532,336
201632,980
201733,352
201833,803
201934,525
202034,987
202135,495
202236,160
202337,000
202437,824
202538,622
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 183,839 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Renfrewshire · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total173,84894.6%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 174,908 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Renfrewshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White170,05797.2%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller700%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group4370.2%
Asian / Asian British: Indian1,0280.6%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani9650.6%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi190%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese8230.5%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian2750.2%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British9230.5%
Other Ethnic Group3110.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 14.5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Renfrewshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,159 per person in 1997; £22,200 per person in 2024. 142.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Renfrewshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,159
19989,334
19999,850
200010,450
200111,239
200211,326
200311,592
200411,845
200512,315
200612,867
200713,398
200814,050
200914,413
201014,292
201114,442
201214,824
201315,371
201415,772
201516,476
201616,575
201716,742
201817,037
201918,359
202018,133
202118,325
202219,007
202320,590
202422,200
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Renfrewshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -13.7% in 1997; -14.5% in 2024. 0.8 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Renfrewshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-13.7
1998-13.8
1999-12.9
2000-12.2
2001-9.2
2002-10.5
2003-11.1
2004-12.7
2005-12.4
2006-12.1
2007-12.7
2008-10.8
2009-10
2010-11.5
2011-11.4
2012-12.2
2013-12.2
2014-12.8
2015-13.4
2016-13.9
2017-15
2018-16.5
2019-12.9
2020-13.6
2021-16.1
2022-17.2
2023-15.8
2024-14.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · Renfrewshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Renfrewshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£160,000

July 2026 · Renfrewshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.